- The Number: 60% on 75 Questions
- What 60% Means in Practical Terms
- What the Issuer Does Not Publish
- Passing Score vs. Pass Rate
- Where Your Points Come From: The Four Sessions
- Logistics That Surround the Score
- If You Miss 60%: Retake Mechanics
- Keeping Your Knowledge Current for 2026
- A Domain-Ordered Plan to Clear the Bar
- After You Pass: Validity and Renewal
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The Health Savings Account Specialist exam requires a score of at least 60% across 75 multiple-choice questions.
- You get three hours once the timer starts, and exam access must occur within 120 days of purchase.
- The 60% threshold is a cut score, not a pass rate; ECFC has not publicly disclosed aggregate success statistics.
- The four published sessions are unweighted preparation headings, so study all four evenly rather than guessing at percentages.
The Number: 60% on 75 Questions
The Health Savings Account Specialist (HSAS) designation is issued by the Employers Council on Flexible Compensation (ECFC), with credential programs delivered through its wholly owned Flexible Compensation Institute, LLC (FCI). The passing standard published for the exam is straightforward: you must score at least 60%. The exam contains 75 questions and allows three hours once you begin.
That is the entire official scoring statement. There is no published scaled-score range, no tiered result bands, and no per-section minimum in the sources reviewed. If you have seen other certifications with scaled scores such as 70 out of 100 or 500 out of 800, set those expectations aside. For this credential, the benchmark is a simple percentage.
What 60% Means in Practical Terms
Because the exam has 75 questions and the passing standard is 60%, the arithmetic is simple, assuming every question counts equally toward the score. Sixty percent of 75 is 45, so a candidate would need roughly 45 correct answers to reach the threshold. Treat that as a working planning figure rather than an official statement, because ECFC has not published how many questions are scored versus unscored, and has not said whether every item carries equal weight.
| Exam Element | What Is Published | Planning Implication |
|---|---|---|
| Passing score | At least 60% | Aim well above the line to absorb weak spots |
| Question count | 75 questions | About 45 correct answers is the working target |
| Time limit | Three hours once started | Roughly 2.4 minutes per question on average |
| Question format | Multiple choice | No essays or hands-on tasks to prepare for |
| Scored/unscored split | Not published | Do not skip questions assuming they are unscored |
| Access window | Within 120 days of purchase | Schedule your sitting before the window closes |
Three hours for 75 questions is a generous pace. Time pressure is rarely the main risk on an exam like this; content gaps are. Candidates who struggle typically do so because they memorized the sessions superficially and then met scenario questions that ask them to apply a rule to a specific employee situation. For a candid read on difficulty, see How Hard Is the HSAS Exam?
What the Issuer Does Not Publish
A good strategy starts with knowing which facts are verified and which are not. After reviewing the issuer's public pages, several details that candidates commonly ask about remain unpublished:
- Percentage weights per domain. The four session headings are curriculum headings, not a verified exam blueprint. No domain is established as the largest.
- The scored/unscored split. ECFC does not say whether some of the 75 items are unscored pilot questions.
- Open-book or closed-book rules. No policy was verified either way, so confirm the rules inside your ECFC account before you start.
- Calculator rules and adaptive testing. Neither was verified.
- Maximum attempts and retake waiting periods. The retake fee is published, but attempt limits and waiting periods are not.
- A numbered exam version or 2026 revision. No dated curriculum edition or exam update was verified.
Passing Score vs. Pass Rate
These two ideas get conflated constantly. The passing score is the threshold an individual must reach: 60%. The pass rate is the share of all candidates who clear it. ECFC's public sources do not disclose an aggregate pass rate, so no figure can be responsibly quoted. If a page claims a precise HSAS pass percentage, ask where the data came from.
What you can say is that the 60% standard is the only quantitative bar the issuer has published. You can read more about this distinction in HSAS Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows. For the purposes of your own planning, the useful question is not "what percentage of people pass?" but "can I consistently score comfortably above 60% on questions that mirror the four sessions?"
Where Your Points Come From: The Four Sessions
The preparation program is organized into four sessions, and those headings are the best available map of what you will be tested on. They are presented here exactly as published, without invented weights. For a deeper walk through each area, see HSAS Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 4 Content Areas.
Domain 1: History, Benefits, Eligibility, HSA-qualified Plan Design
This is the foundation. Questions here test whether you can determine who may open and fund an HSA and which health plans make that possible.
- How HSAs developed and why they exist
- The benefits that make HSAs distinct from other accounts
- Who is and is not eligible, including situations that disqualify someone
- What makes a health plan HSA-qualified and how plan design affects eligibility
Domain 2: HSA Contributions and Distributions
Expect rule-application questions about putting money in and taking it out correctly.
- Contribution mechanics, limits and who may contribute
- Qualified versus non-qualified distributions and their consequences
- Recordkeeping and reporting responsibilities
- Money movement, such as transfers and rollovers
Domain 3: HSA Success Strategies & Case Studies
This is where memorization alone fails. Case-based items ask you to apply the rules to realistic employer and employee scenarios.
- Employer-side strategy for offering and funding HSAs
- Employee scenarios that combine eligibility, contribution and distribution rules
- Choosing the right course of action when facts are layered
Domain 4: Medicare, Retirement & Distribution
This area covers how HSAs interact with later-life coverage and spending.
- How Medicare enrollment affects the ability to keep contributing
- Using an HSA as a retirement resource
- Distribution rules that apply in later years
Because the exam is multiple choice and the sessions include case studies, plan for questions that present a short fact pattern and ask which answer is correct. For a condensed refresher on the facts that tend to matter most, the HSAS Cheat Sheet 2026 is a useful companion once you have worked through the full material.
Logistics That Surround the Score
Your score only counts if you sit the exam correctly, so the mechanics deserve attention. Based on the issuer sources, the process works like this:
- Purchase the study program and exam. The current public program page lists $574 for ECFC members and $1,024 for non-members for the combined study course and exam. A separate exam-only initial price is not published. An older ECFC brochure displays different figures ($575 member and $1,150 non-member), so rely on the current program page and confirm at checkout. A full breakdown lives in HSAS Certification Cost 2026.
- Access the exam through your ECFC account. The FCI FAQ describes access under My Learning in the purchaser's ECFC account.
- Start within 120 days of purchase. Exam access must occur within that window, so do not buy early and then let the clock run out.
- Finish in three hours. The timer runs once you start, so begin only when you have an uninterrupted block.
Notably, no external testing company, remote-proctoring arrangement or testing-center requirement was verified. Do not assume a proctored appointment model, and do not assume the Credly badge platform administers the exam; Credly supplies the issuer's digital badge. For scheduling specifics, see HSAS Exam Dates 2026.
Key Takeaway
Treat the 120-day access window as a hard deadline. Buy the program when you are ready to begin studying, build your review schedule backward from the day you intend to start the timer, and leave a buffer in case you need a retake.
If You Miss 60%: Retake Mechanics
Falling short is not the end of the road. The FCI FAQ identifies a $90 retake fee for the HSAS exam. What is not verified is any waiting period between attempts or a cap on the number of attempts, so do not plan around either assumption. If you do not pass, confirm the current retake process in your ECFC account before booking another sitting.
The practical lesson is to treat a first attempt as a real attempt, not a trial run. At $90, a retake is far cheaper than the initial bundle, but it still costs time, and the 120-day access rule means you should confirm how a retake interacts with your original window.
Keeping Your Knowledge Current for 2026
HSA rules change with the tax year, and several numerical limits are adjusted annually for inflation. IRS Revenue Procedure 2025-19, published in Internal Revenue Bulletin 2025-21 dated May 19, 2025, supplies the 2026 inflation-adjusted HSA amounts. IRS Notice 2026-5 explains expanded HSA availability under the One, Big, Beautiful Bill Act (OBBBA), including changes to eligibility and related provisions.
The areas most sensitive to annual change are the contribution rules in Domain 2 and the eligibility rules in Domain 1. Build a one-page sheet of the current-year figures and rules from the IRS sources, and review it separately from your course notes so you can see at a glance which numbers move each year.
A Domain-Ordered Plan to Clear the Bar
Because the sessions build on each other, the order of study matters more than the length of any single session. The sequence below follows the published structure and puts the hardest application work after the foundations are secure. For a full method, see the HSAS Study Guide 2026.
Domain 1: Eligibility and Plan Design
- Work through the history and benefits material
- Drill the eligibility rules until you can explain each disqualifier
- Learn what makes a plan HSA-qualified
Domain 2: Contributions and Distributions
- Study contribution mechanics alongside the current-year IRS figures
- Practice classifying distributions as qualified or non-qualified
- Review reporting and money-movement rules
Domains 3 and 4: Cases, Medicare and Retirement
- Work case studies end to end, naming the rule behind each decision
- Review how Medicare enrollment changes contribution ability
- Revisit distribution rules for retirement scenarios
Mixed Review and Practice
- Take mixed-domain practice sets under a three-hour limit
- Target any domain where you miss more than a couple of questions
- Schedule your sitting well inside the 120-day window
When you are ready for timed, mixed-domain practice, the HSAS practice test site offers question sets that let you check whether you are landing comfortably above the 60% mark rather than hovering near it.
After You Pass: Validity and Renewal
Passing earns a credential with a defined lifespan. According to the issuer's renewal page, certification lasts three years. To renew, you need four CE units earned during the preceding three years, supporting documentation, the renewal form and a fee of $75 for members or $150 for non-members. A six-month grace period applies; if you lapse by more than six months, you must take the examination again. Outside courses may be approved for CE credit with a $20 administrative charge per CE unit.
Do not confuse the six CE units associated with the initial preparation program with the four-unit renewal requirement; they serve different purposes. On the career side, employers sometimes name the credential directly. One example is a senior product compliance analyst posting at HealthEquity that lists HSAS among credentials considered a plus, with a posted range of $83,500 to $129,000 for a role requiring a bachelor's degree and seven or more years of experience. That range reflects one employer's senior role, not an HSAS salary survey or a proven pay premium. For a fuller treatment, see the HSAS Salary Guide 2026 and Is the HSAS Certification Worth It?
Frequently Asked Questions
You need at least 60% on the 75-question multiple-choice exam. That works out to roughly 45 correct answers if every question counts equally, though ECFC has not published how items are weighted or whether some are unscored.
You have three hours once you start. Separately, exam access must occur within 120 days of purchase, so the sitting itself and the access window are two different limits.
No. Sixty percent is the minimum score an individual must earn. It says nothing about what share of candidates pass, and ECFC has not publicly disclosed an aggregate pass rate in the sources reviewed.
You can retake the exam for a $90 fee, according to the FCI FAQ. No waiting period or maximum number of attempts was verified, so confirm current retake rules in your ECFC account before scheduling.
The weights are not published. The four sessions are preparation headings rather than a verified exam blueprint, so study all four areas rather than relying on any claimed percentage breakdown.
The passing standard for the Health Savings Account Specialist exam is refreshingly plain: reach 60% on 75 questions within three hours. The challenge is not the number but the breadth, so give each of the four sessions real attention, keep your tax-year figures current, and test yourself on realistic practice questions until clearing the bar feels routine.