HSAS logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

HSAS Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows

TL;DR
  • The Employers Council on Flexible Compensation (ECFC) has not publicly disclosed an aggregate HSAS pass rate in the sources reviewed.
  • The 60% figure is the minimum passing score on a 75-question exam, not the share of candidates who pass.
  • The exam allows three hours once started, and access must happen within 120 days of purchase.
  • A retake costs $90, so a miss is a manageable setback rather than a full repurchase.

What "Pass Rate" Means for the Health Savings Account Specialist Exam

Anyone searching for the HSAS pass rate wants one number: the percentage of candidates who pass on their first try. It is a reasonable question. It also has a short, honest answer for this credential. As of the sources reviewed for this article (October 9, 2026), no aggregate pass rate for the Health Savings Account Specialist designation has been publicly disclosed by its issuer.

That matters because the internet is full of confident-sounding percentages for professional exams. Any figure attached to the HSAS that does not trace back to the issuer should be treated as unsupported. This article separates what is known from what is not, so you can plan your preparation around real facts instead of invented statistics.

Throughout this article, "HSAS" refers specifically to the Health Savings Account Specialist designation offered through ECFC, with credential programs delivered by its wholly owned Flexible Compensation Institute, LLC (FCI). It is not any of the other credentials that happen to share the abbreviation, and it is not the same thing as the Certified Health Savings Professional (CHSP) or the HSA Expert Certificate programs offered by other organizations.

What ECFC Actually Publishes About the HSAS

The issuer's public pages describe the designation, the study program, the price, the exam mechanics and the renewal rules. They do not report how many candidates sat for the exam, how many passed, or how many needed a retake. The public information that does exist falls into a few categories:

  • Eligibility: employment in the benefits or compensation industry, payment, completion of the HSAS study course and a passing exam. No minimum degree, quantified work-experience requirement or references are published for the HSAS. For the full picture, see our guide to HSAS requirements and eligibility.
  • Exam structure: 75 questions, three hours once started, and a minimum score of 60%.
  • Access window: exam access must occur within 120 days of purchase.
  • Retake fee: $90 for the HSAS, per the FCI FAQ.

Notice what is absent: a first-time pass percentage, a cohort size, or any year-over-year success trend. When a number is not published, the right move is to say so rather than backfill the gap with a guess.

Why the gap exists: The HSAS is a relatively young program. ECFC introduced the education and certification offering in early 2024, and a credential with a short public track record has had little time to accumulate the kind of reporting larger, older exams sometimes provide. The absence of a pass rate is not evidence that the exam is unusually easy or unusually hard.

The 60% Threshold Is Not a Pass Rate

The single most common mix-up in this topic is treating the passing score as if it were the pass rate. They answer different questions:

TermWhat It MeasuresStatus for the HSAS
Passing scoreThe minimum percentage of questions an individual must answer correctly60% (published by ECFC)
Pass rateThe share of all candidates who meet or exceed the passing scoreNot publicly disclosed
Cut-score methodHow the threshold was set (for example, standard-setting studies)Not published
Scored vs. unscored itemsHow many of the 75 questions count toward the resultNot published

With 75 questions and a 60% threshold, the arithmetic suggests 45 correct answers would be the floor. However, ECFC does not publish whether all 75 questions are scored, so treat 45 as an approximation for planning, not an official guarantee. For a deeper look at how the threshold works, read HSAS Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass.

A 60% passing score is a comparatively approachable threshold, but a lenient cut score does not automatically translate into a high pass rate. The content is applied and rule-heavy, and a candidate who skims the material can still fall short. Difficulty is a function of the questions and the candidate pool together, which is why the passing score alone cannot predict the pass rate.

Exam Format and Logistics That Shape Outcomes

Because there is no pass-rate statistic to lean on, the logistics are the most useful data you have. They determine how you should prepare and where the practical risks sit.

Delivery and Question Style

According to the FCI FAQ, the exams are multiple choice and are accessed through the purchaser's ECFC account under My Learning, with a three-hour timer running once you begin. That detail is more important than it sounds. Because the clock starts when you start, not when you buy, the 120-day access window and the three-hour sitting are two separate constraints. Buy the program, then begin the exam only when your preparation is complete.

Several policy details were not verified in the sources reviewed: whether the exam is open- or closed-book, any calculator rule, any remote-proctoring arrangement, the retake waiting period and any maximum number of attempts. Confirm these directly with ECFC before exam day instead of assuming. Also note that Credly supplies the issuer's digital badge; it is not established as the examination provider.

Timing Math

Three hours for 75 questions works out to roughly two and a half minutes per question on average. For multiple-choice items that test rules and scenarios, that is generous for recall questions and tighter for case-study items. Plan to move quickly through definitional questions so you bank time for the scenario-based ones.

Key Takeaway

Separate your three clocks: the 120-day access window starts at purchase, the three-hour timer starts when you open the exam, and certification validity starts after you pass. Mixing them up is an avoidable way to lose attempts or time. See HSAS exam dates and scheduling for the scheduling details.

The Four Sessions and Where Candidates Lose Points

ECFC's study program is organized into four sessions, which map to the four content areas below. These are preparation headings, not a verified exam blueprint. ECFC does not publish percentage weights for each area, so you cannot reliably say which one dominates the exam. Our complete guide to the four HSAS exam domains walks through each one in detail.

Without a published weighting or a pass rate, the most defensible way to prepare is to be competent across all four areas. Here is where applied, rule-based content tends to trip people up, framed as areas to scrutinize rather than as measured failure statistics.

Domain 1: History, Benefits, Eligibility, HSA-qualified Plan Design

This area covers how HSAs came to exist, what they offer, who can open and fund one, and what makes a health plan qualify.

  • Eligibility rules are binary and detail-sensitive; a single disqualifying factor changes the answer.
  • Plan-design questions reward precision about what a qualifying plan must and must not do.
  • Tax-year-specific figures change annually, so confirm the amounts against IRS publications for the relevant year.

Domain 2: HSA Contributions and Distributions

The mechanics of putting money in and taking money out, including who may contribute and how withdrawals are treated.

  • Contribution limits are adjusted for inflation each year; the 2026 amounts come from IRS Revenue Procedure 2025-19.
  • Expanded eligibility provisions are explained in IRS Notice 2026-5 under the One, Big, Beautiful Bill Act.
  • Distribution questions often hinge on whether a use is qualified, so practice classifying scenarios, not memorizing lists.

Domain 3: HSA Success Strategies & Case Studies

Applied scenarios that combine rules into realistic employer and employee situations.

  • Case-study items require integrating several rules at once, which is where partial knowledge breaks down.
  • Expect to reason about employer strategy and participant outcomes, not just recite definitions.

Domain 4: Medicare, Retirement & Distribution

How HSAs interact with Medicare enrollment and retirement planning, and how distributions work later in life.

  • Interactions between Medicare and HSA contributions are a classic source of confusion.
  • Later-life distribution rules differ from earlier-life rules, so keep the timelines straight.

Because the curriculum blends regulatory rules with applied scenarios, candidates who study by memorizing isolated facts tend to struggle with the case-study style. Pair rule recall with scenario practice. If you want to gauge the overall challenge, How Hard Is the HSAS Exam? breaks down the difficulty in more depth.

Why Candidates Tend to Be a Prepared Group

Even without a published pass rate, you can reason about who sits for this exam, and that reasoning is useful context. Eligibility requires employment in the benefits or compensation industry, and candidates must pay for and complete the study course before testing. That is a self-selected pool: professionals who already work with these programs and who invested money and time in structured preparation.

The preparation program itself is substantial. ECFC's Credly badge confirms four recorded courses, four presentations, a study guide and six CE units for the program. Those CE units are not a verified measure of course hours, so do not translate them into a study-time promise. The point is simply that candidates arrive after working through structured material, which generally argues against a very low success rate. That is inference, not data, and it should not be read as a claim about the actual number.

Read this carefully: Selection effects are a reason to be cautiously optimistic, not a statistic. A prepared candidate pool does not tell you your own odds. Your result depends on how well you master the four sessions, not on the average candidate.

The Cost of a Miss: Retakes, Pricing and Timing

When a pass rate is unknown, the cost of failing becomes the practical risk metric. Here is what the published facts say.

ItemPublished Detail
Study course plus exam (member)$574 on the current program page
Study course plus exam (non-member)$1,024 on the current program page
HSAS retake fee$90, per the FCI FAQ
Group discount50% for 10 or more users, per the program page
Access window120 days from purchase

One note on pricing: an older ECFC brochure with a 2023 filename lists $575 for members and $1,150 for non-members, which conflicts with the current program page. We use the current program-page prices above and flag the discrepancy so you can confirm the figure at checkout. A separate bulk-registration code listing shows $1,150 and is a group-purchase product, so it should not be confused with the individual price. See HSAS Certification Cost 2026 for the full breakdown.

The takeaway: because the retake fee is $90, a first-attempt miss is financially modest compared with the original bundle. That lowers the stakes of the exam but should not lower your standards for preparation. Also remember the 120-day access window when planning a retake, and verify directly with ECFC how retake timing works, since a waiting period and attempt limit were not verified in the sources reviewed.

How to Vet Pass-Rate Claims You Find Online

Because no official figure is published, any specific HSAS pass rate you encounter deserves scrutiny. Use these checks:

  1. Check the credential. Several unrelated credentials share the HSAS abbreviation, and the HSA acronym also stands for the accounts themselves. A statistic about a different "HSAS" or about generic HSA knowledge does not apply to ECFC's designation.
  2. Look for the source. A real pass rate should trace to the issuer or a documented dataset, with a stated period and sample size. A bare percentage with no origin is not evidence.
  3. Distinguish score from rate. If a page quotes 60% as the pass rate, it has confused the passing score with the success rate.
  4. Beware adjacent material. Generic HSA study pages, including those that mix account rules with unrelated topics, are not verified ECFC-HSAS preparation, and their exam statistics should not be imported.
  5. Match the program. The CHSP and HSA Expert programs are different credentials from different providers. Their format, cost and outcomes do not describe the HSAS.

If you are still deciding between credentials, our overviews of what HSAS certification is and what HSAS stands for help confirm you are researching the right designation.

A Preparation Plan Built Around the Four Sessions

Since there is no pass-rate benchmark to calibrate against, aim for comfortable mastery rather than a bare pass. The 60% threshold is a floor, and a margin protects you against scenario items that combine several rules. Here is one way to sequence study across the four sessions. The order follows the logic of the content: foundations first, then mechanics, then application, then the later-life complications.

Week 1

History, Benefits, Eligibility, Plan Design

  • Work through the first session and build a one-page list of eligibility conditions.
  • Note which rules depend on tax-year figures and look them up in the IRS sources.
Week 2

Contributions and Distributions

  • Study the second session and practice classifying contribution and distribution scenarios.
  • Review the 2026 inflation-adjusted amounts in IRS Revenue Procedure 2025-19.
Week 3

Success Strategies and Case Studies

  • Spend extra time here, since case studies combine rules from earlier sessions.
  • Rework each scenario until you can explain why each wrong option fails.
Week 4

Medicare, Retirement and Distribution

  • Study how Medicare enrollment interacts with HSA contributions.
  • Finish with a timed full-length run of 75 questions in three hours.

Four weeks is a planning example, not an issuer recommendation, and your own timeline should reflect your experience. Because the exam must be started within 120 days of purchase, leave room before that deadline for a second pass through your weakest session. For a broader walkthrough, see our HSAS study guide and the one-page HSAS cheat sheet for last-minute review. When you are ready to test yourself with original questions, try the HSAS practice tests on our main site.

Practical tip: Because the tax figures and eligibility provisions are updated by the IRS, build a habit of checking the year-labeled sources instead of relying on a number from memory. These IRS sources support tax-year-labeled study, but they do not tell you when ECFC revised its exam items, so confirm the currency of your study materials with the issuer.

After the Pass: Validity and Renewal

Passing is the start of a three-year certification term, which is a different clock from the exam's 120-day access window. Renewal requires four CE units earned during the preceding three years, supporting documentation, the renewal form and a fee of $75 for members or $150 for non-members. A six-month grace period applies, and a lapse longer than six months requires another examination. Outside courses may be approved for an administrative charge of $20 per CE unit.

The six CE units attached to the initial preparation program and the four units required at renewal serve different purposes, so do not assume one substitutes for the other. If you are weighing the long-term value of the credential, Is the HSAS Certification Worth It? and the HSAS salary guide cover the career side, including the caveat that one employer's posted range is not a salary survey. For example, a HealthEquity compliance analyst posting lists HSAS among credentials considered a plus, but that is a single role-specific data point and not proof of a certification pay premium. To explore where the credential is used, see HSAS jobs.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the HSAS pass rate?

ECFC has not publicly disclosed an aggregate pass rate for the Health Savings Account Specialist exam in the sources reviewed. Any specific percentage you see without a traceable issuer source should be treated as unverified. The 60% figure is the passing score, not the share of candidates who pass.

Is 60% the HSAS pass rate?

No. Sixty percent is the minimum score an individual candidate must earn on the 75-question exam. A pass rate would describe how many candidates meet that score, and that aggregate figure has not been published.

How many questions are on the HSAS exam, and how long do I have?

The exam has 75 multiple-choice questions and allows three hours once you start. ECFC does not publish how many of the 75 are scored. You must access the exam within 120 days of purchase.

What happens if I fail the HSAS exam?

The FCI FAQ lists a $90 retake fee for the HSAS. A waiting period and a maximum number of attempts were not verified, so confirm those policies with ECFC. Keep the 120-day access window in mind when planning a second attempt.

Does the exam weight each of the four domains equally?

ECFC does not publish percentage weights for the four sessions, so no official weighting exists to report. The four session headings are preparation topics, not a verified exam blueprint. Study all four areas rather than betting on a single one.

The honest summary is this: there is no official HSAS pass rate to quote, so your best strategy is to master all four sessions, respect the logistics, and treat the 60% threshold as a floor instead of a target. For the full picture of what the credential covers, start with what the HSAS is, and keep this page's sibling resource, HSAS Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows, in mind as new information becomes available.

Ready to pass your HSAS exam?

Put this into practice with free HSAS questions across every exam domain.