HSAS logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

What Is HSAS?

TL;DR
  • HSAS here means Health Savings Account Specialist, issued through the Employers Council on Flexible Compensation (ECFC) and its Flexible Compensation Institute...
  • The exam has 75 multiple-choice questions, a three-hour limit once started, and a passing score of at least 60%.
  • The current program page lists $574 for members and $1,024 for non-members, covering the study course and exam together.
  • Certification lasts three years; renewal takes four CE units, documentation and a fee.

HSAS Defined: One Acronym, Several Meanings

On this site, HSAS means exactly one thing: Health Savings Account Specialist. It is a professional designation for people who work with health savings accounts (HSAs) in the benefits and compensation world. If you are searching for the meaning of the acronym, our companion explainers on what HSAS stands for and the meaning of HSAS cover the vocabulary in more detail.

The confusion is understandable. "HSAs" is the common plural abbreviation for the accounts themselves, and several other HSA-related credentials and certificates exist in the market. This article is only about the ECFC designation. When you see exam fees, renewal terms or session topics quoted here, they belong to Health Savings Account Specialist and nothing else.

A metadata quirk worth knowing: ECFC's indexed page title for the program still reads "HSAe Designation," while the body of the page explicitly describes the HSAS designation. The credential is Health Savings Account Specialist. The older label is a leftover in page metadata, not a separate or renamed exam.

Who Issues the Credential

The HSAS is offered by the Employers Council on Flexible Compensation (ECFC), a professional organization focused on flexible compensation and consumer-directed benefits. ECFC delivers its credential programs through its wholly owned subsidiary, Flexible Compensation Institute, LLC (FCI). You will see both names on registration pages and FAQs.

Digital badges for the credential are issued through Credly, which serves as the badge platform. Credly is not established as the examination provider; it is where earned credentials are displayed and verified. The exam itself is accessed through your ECFC account.

For a broader walkthrough of what the certification involves, see our overview of what HSAS certification is.

Who the Credential Is Built For

The HSAS is aimed at professionals employed in the benefits and compensation industry. ECFC's published eligibility terms are short: you must be employed in that industry, pay for the program, complete the HSAS study course and pass the exam. No minimum degree, quantified work-experience requirement, prerequisite FCS certification or references are published for the HSAS.

That makes it more accessible than credentials that gate entry behind years of experience. Typical candidates include:

  • Benefits administrators and account servicing staff at third-party administrators
  • Compliance analysts supporting HSA custodians and administrators
  • Employer benefits managers designing HSA-qualified plan offerings
  • Brokers and consultants advising employers on consumer-directed strategy
  • Customer-facing specialists who field contribution, distribution and Medicare questions

Our HSAS requirements guide goes deeper on qualifying and what is and is not published about prerequisites.

The Four Published Sessions

ECFC's study program is organized into four sessions. Those headings are the supported way to describe what the program covers. They are unweighted preparation headings, not a verified exam blueprint, and ECFC has not published percentage allocations or a count of official exam domains. Treat the four areas below as the map of the preparation curriculum.

Domain 1: History, Benefits, Eligibility, HSA-qualified Plan Design

This is the foundation session. Candidates need to understand how HSAs came to exist, what makes an account holder eligible, and how a qualifying health plan is structured.

  • Who can and cannot open and contribute to an HSA, and why other coverage can disqualify someone
  • The features of an HSA-qualified plan, including how deductibles and out-of-pocket limits are framed
  • The tax advantages that make HSAs distinct from other consumer-directed accounts
  • How plan design decisions affect who can participate

Domain 2: HSA Contributions and Distributions

This is the mechanics session, and it is where numerical rules concentrate. Expect questions about how money gets into and out of an account.

  • Contribution sources and limits, including how different coverage situations change what is allowed
  • Catch-up contributions and the effect of mid-year changes in eligibility
  • Qualified versus non-qualified distributions and the consequences of each
  • Reporting responsibilities that attach to contributions and distributions
  • Correcting excess contributions

Domain 3: HSA Success Strategies & Case Studies

This session applies the rules to realistic situations. Rather than recalling a single fact, candidates work through scenarios, which suits an applied credential.

  • Employer strategies for encouraging participation and funding
  • Scenarios that combine eligibility, contribution and distribution questions in one fact pattern
  • Identifying where an account holder or employer is likely to make a costly mistake

Domain 4: Medicare, Retirement & Distribution

The final session addresses the later stages of an account's life, where well-meaning account holders often make errors.

  • How Medicare enrollment interacts with the ability to keep contributing
  • Using HSA funds in retirement and how distributions are treated
  • Planning considerations as an account holder moves from active contributor to spend-down

For session-by-session coverage, read our HSAS exam domains guide. Because the four headings carry no published weights, resist any resource that claims an exact percentage split.

Exam Format and Logistics

Here is what the issuer sources establish about the exam itself.

ItemWhat Is Published
Number of questions75
Question typeMultiple choice
Time limitThree hours once started
Passing scoreAt least 60%
Access windowExam access must occur within 120 days of purchase
Where you take itThrough your ECFC account under My Learning
Retake fee$90

Several details are not published, and it is better to know that than to guess. The split between scored and unscored questions, any proctoring arrangement, open- or closed-book rules, calculator policy, retake waiting periods and maximum attempts were not verified from public sources. Confirm those specifics with ECFC before you schedule your sitting.

Three clocks, three different jobs: The 120-day access window governs how long you have to start the exam after buying. The three-hour timer governs a single sitting once you begin. The three-year certification term governs how long the credential stays valid after you pass. Candidates regularly blur these together, so keep them separate in your planning.

Because three hours for 75 questions works out to a generous pace per item, time pressure is less likely to be the obstacle than content gaps, especially in the scenario-style material from Domain 3. Our difficulty guide and passing score article expand on what to expect, and our scheduling guide covers timing considerations.

The 60% Threshold Is Not a Pass Rate

The 60% figure is the score a candidate needs to pass. It is not the share of candidates who pass. ECFC has not publicly disclosed an aggregate pass rate in the sources reviewed, so any site quoting a specific success percentage for the HSAS is not drawing on published issuer data. See our pass rate analysis for how to think about this honestly.

Cost and Purchase Mechanics

The HSAS is sold as a bundle: the study course and the exam together. The current public program page posts the following.

Purchase TypePublished Price
Study course plus exam, ECFC member$574
Study course plus exam, non-member$1,024
Exam retake$90
Group package (10+ users)50% discount advertised

One discrepancy deserves a plain disclosure. An undated ECFC "About" brochure with a 2023 filename lists the HSAS at $575 for members and $1,150 for non-members. The current program page prices are the ones used here, and the older brochure figures should not be blended with them. A separate bulk registration code listing shows $1,150 and asks buyers to sign in for pricing; that is a group-purchase product, with unused code uses nonrefundable and codes valid for one year, and it is not the individual package price.

A separate exam-only price for first-time candidates is not published. For a full breakdown, see our HSAS certification cost guide.

Validity and Renewal

The credential does not last forever. ECFC's renewal page sets out the terms:

  • Term: certification lasts three years
  • CE requirement: four continuing education units earned in the preceding three years
  • Paperwork: supporting documentation and the renewal form
  • Fee: $75 for members, $150 for non-members
  • Grace period: six months
  • Lapse: if the certification lapses by more than six months, another examination is required
  • Outside courses: may be approved for CE credit with a $20 administrative charge per CE unit

Note that the six CE units advertised for the initial preparation program and the four CE units required for renewal serve different purposes. The six units describe the program's content; they should not be read as a verified number of course hours, and they are not what you submit at renewal.

Key Takeaway

Start tracking CE units the day you pass. A renewal that slips beyond the six-month grace period means sitting the exam again, which costs far more time than a few units of approved continuing education.

Career Value and Who Mentions HSAS

The honest picture of career value is narrower than marketing copy usually suggests. One concrete data point: a HealthEquity posting for a senior product compliance analyst lists HSAS among credentials considered a plus. That role advertises $83,500 to $129,000 annually, but it also requires a bachelor's degree and seven or more years of experience.

That range belongs to one employer's senior role. It is not an HSAS salary survey and it does not demonstrate a pay premium attributable to the credential. Compensation in HSA-adjacent work depends on education, experience, skills and location far more than on any single designation. No reliable credential-holder salary survey has been verified.

Where the designation plausibly helps is in signaling subject-matter fluency to employers who administer or advise on HSAs, particularly for compliance, product and client-facing roles. For detailed analysis, see our salary guide, our ROI analysis and our overview of HSAS jobs.

HSAS Versus Look-Alike Credentials

Several other credentials sit near the HSAS in the market. They are separate programs with separate issuers, and none is a renamed version of the ECFC designation.

CredentialIssuer or ProviderRelationship to HSAS
Health Savings Account Specialist (HSAS)ECFC / Flexible Compensation InstituteThe subject of this article
Certified Health Savings Professional (CHSP)AscensusAdjacent HSA education aimed at financial-organization professionals; different program
HSA Expert CertificateSupplied by HSA Consulting Services and distributed with the ABA HSA CouncilAdjacent HSA program; different issuer and syllabus
FCS (Flexible Compensation Specialist)ECFCBroader ECFC credential with its own curriculum; not a prerequisite for HSAS

The practical advice: do not study from another program's syllabus and assume it transfers. The ECFC session headings above are the supported guide to what the HSAS preparation covers.

Sequencing Your Preparation by Domain

You do not need an elaborate methodology. What helps is ordering the four sessions so that each builds on the last. A sensible sequence for a six-week effort follows the logic of the content.

Weeks 1-2

Domain 1 first

  • Lock down eligibility and qualified-plan rules before anything else; every later topic assumes them
  • Build a one-page list of disqualifying coverage situations
Weeks 3-4

Domain 2, slowly

  • Spend the most time here because contribution and distribution rules are detail-heavy
  • Practice working through mid-year eligibility changes and excess-contribution corrections
Week 5

Domains 3 and 4

  • Work case studies that chain several rules together
  • Review Medicare timing and retirement distributions as the final stage of the account lifecycle
Week 6

Full-length rehearsal

  • Sit a timed 75-question practice run and review every miss against the four sessions

Build your rehearsal around the 120-day access window: buy the bundle when you are ready to start, not months earlier. Our full study guide and one-page cheat sheet are good companions, and you can drill questions on our main practice test site.

Keeping Current on Tax-Year Rules

HSA rules change each year, and numerical limits are tied to a specific tax year. When you study, label every limit with its year and verify it against a primary source rather than a blog post. Two IRS documents are useful anchors:

  • Revenue Procedure 2025-19, published in Internal Revenue Bulletin 2025-21 (May 19, 2025), supplies the 2026 inflation-adjusted HSA amounts.
  • IRS Notice 2026-5 explains expanded HSA availability under the One, Big, Beautiful Bill Act (OBBBA), including changes to eligibility and related provisions.

These sources support tax-year-labeled study updates. They do not tell you when ECFC revised any exam questions, and no dated curriculum edition or numbered exam version has been verified. The practical takeaway: learn the underlying rules, know where current limits come from, and confirm the amounts in force for the tax year in question.

Study with a source habit: For every limit or rule you memorize, note the tax year and the primary source. It makes your notes more trustworthy and makes it easy to refresh them when the next annual adjustment arrives.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does HSAS stand for?

HSAS stands for Health Savings Account Specialist, a designation offered through the Employers Council on Flexible Compensation (ECFC) and its Flexible Compensation Institute. It is distinct from other credentials that share similar letters.

How many questions are on the HSAS exam and what score do I need?

The exam has 75 multiple-choice questions, allows three hours once started, and requires a score of at least 60%. The split between scored and unscored questions is not published.

How much does the HSAS cost?

The current program page lists $574 for ECFC members and $1,024 for non-members, covering the study course and exam together. A retake costs $90. An older brochure shows slightly different figures, so check the current program page before buying.

How long is the HSAS valid and how do I renew?

Certification lasts three years. Renewal requires four CE units from the preceding three years, supporting documentation, the renewal form and a fee of $75 for members or $150 for non-members. A six-month grace period applies, and a longer lapse requires retaking the exam.

What is the HSAS pass rate?

ECFC has not publicly disclosed an aggregate pass rate in the sources reviewed. The 60% figure is the passing score, not the share of candidates who pass, so be skeptical of any site quoting a specific success percentage.

Ready to pass your HSAS exam?

Put this into practice with free HSAS questions across every exam domain.